Meeting documents

Standards Committee
Wednesday, 17th June, 2015 7.00 pm

Wednesday, 17th June, 2015
7.00 pm
New Council Chamber, Town Hall, Reigate

Attendance Details

Councillors Mrs. D.A. Ross-Tomlin, (Chairman from Item 2 onwards), B.A. Stead, Mrs. R. Renton, S. Rickman and J. Stephenson and Councillor S. Norton.
B.A. Stead
Min NoDescriptionResolution
Part I
1 Election of Chairman

RESOLVED that Mrs. D.A. Ross-Tomlin be elected Chairman of the Committee for the Municipal Year 2015/16.


(Councillor Mrs. D.A. Ross-Tomlin took the Chair)

2 Election of Vice-Chairman

RESOLVED that Councillor Mrs. R. Renton be elected Vice-Chairman of the Committee for the Municipal Year 2015/16.

3 Minutes

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 3rd July 2014 be approved as a correct record.

4 Apologies for Absence and Substitutions

Members: Councillor Mrs J. Bray (Councillor B.A. Stead substituting).

Co-opted Members: Councillor J. Baird.

Others: None.

5 Declarations of Interest


6 Standards Update

The Committee received an update on Standards matters. The report covered:

• Appointment of Monitoring Officer;
• Code of Conduct – informal stage;
• Group Leader meetings;
• Complaints;
• Member training; and
• Registerable interests.


Members noted the code of conduct training that had been attended by all newly elected Councillors. Guidance and information had also been provided to all Horley Town Councillors and Salfords & Sidlow Parish Councillors. It was noted that refresher training was available to any Councillor on request.

RESOLVED that the report be noted.

7 Meetings: 2015/16

The Committee noted the meetings of the Committee scheduled for 2015/16: 24 September 2015, 2 December 2015 and 7 April 2016.

8 Any Other Urgent Business


The meeting closed at 7.15 pm.