REIGATE AND BANSTEAD BOROUGH COUNCIL

ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

12th JUNE, 2014

To report on the Election of Leader; Allocation of Seats on Committees; Membership of Committees for the Municipal Year 2014/15 and other miscellaneous appointments.

Section 1 (Agenda Item 7)

(Note: Under the Local Government Act 2000 as amended the Leader is appointed for four years or until his/her term of office as a Councillor comes to an end)

Leader of the Council

Nomination received Councillor V	W. Broad
----------------------------------	----------

RECOMMENDED that Councillor V.W. Broad be elected as Leader of the Council up to and including the Municipal Year 2015/16.

Section 2 (Agenda Items 8 and 9)

(Notes:

(i) the Council is required to make appointments to Committees in accordance with statutory political balance requirements and to give effect to the wishes of political groups;

(ii) the political balance requirements do not apply to the Licensing Committee and Licensing Sub-Committees as these are not "ordinary" Committees under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989; however the Council has previously accepted that the spirit of political balance should apply;

(iii) substitute Members can be appointed to the Overview and Scrutiny, Employment, Planning, Regulatory and Standards Committees. The Council's Constitution provides for no limitation on the number of substitutes but Executive Members cannot be appointed in respect of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee. The Constitution also indicates that Group Leaders will be expected to ensure that nominated substitutes have received appropriate training on the role and functions of the relevant Committee.)

(iv) the Borough Council representatives are to be appointed onto the Local Committee but no substitute members (this was removed by Surrey County Council in 2013).

(a) Allocation of Seats – 2014/15

RECOMMENDED that the allocation of seats on Committees for the Municipal Year 2014/15 as set out in Annex 1 to this report be approved.

(b) Constitution and Membership of Committees – 2014/15

Overview and Scrutiny Committee (Politically Balanced) 15 Members

Poli	tical Group	
1.	Conservative	M. Blacker
2.	Conservative	S.N. Farrer
3.	Conservative	K. Foreman
4.	Conservative	R. Mantle
5.	Conservative	S. Parnall
6.	Conservative	D. Powell
7.	Conservative	S. Rickman
8.	Conservative	Mrs D.R. Ross-Tomlin
9.	Conservative	P. Shillinglaw
10.	Conservative	J. Stephenson
11.	Conservative	Mrs R. Turner
12.	Residents Associations	N.D. Harrison
13.	Residents Associations	B.A. Stead
14.	Green	J.C.S. Essex
15.	Liberal Democrat	G.L. Norman

Substitutes:

Conservative	Mrs L.J. Brunt, J. Ellacott, A. Horwood, Mrs C. Poulter, Ms B
	Thomson and M. Vivona
Residents Associations	Mrs J. Bray, R. Harper, Mrs G. Harper-Adamson, N. Harris and
	M. Selby
Liberal Democrat	S.A. Kulka
Green	Ms S. Finch and B. Truscott

Employment Committee	(Politically Balanced – must include at least one Executive	
	Member). 5 Members	

Political Group		
1.	Conservative	K. Foreman
2.	Conservative	Mrs R. Renton
3.	Conservative	Mrs J. Spiers
4.	Independent	C.T.H. Whinney
5.	Residents Associations	Mrs J. Bray

Substitutes:

Conservative	V.W. Broad, J. Durrant, Dr. L. Hack, E. Humphreys, A.J. Kay,
	G. Knight, Mrs R Mill, T. Schofield and M. Vivona
Residents Associations	R. Harper and M. Selby

Planning Committee (Politically Balanced) 19 Members

Poli	tical Group	
1.	Conservative	M. Blacker
2.	Conservative	S.T. Bramhall
3.	Conservative	Mrs L.J. Brunt
4.	Conservative	M. Brunt
5.	Conservative	G. Crome
6.	Conservative	J. Ellacott
7.	Conservative	K. Foreman
8.	Conservative	A. Horwood
9.	Conservative	M. Miller
10.	Conservative	S. Parnall
11.	Conservative	D. Powell
12.	Conservative	Ms B. Thomson
13.	Conservative	Mrs R. Turner
14.	Conservative	S. Walsh
15.	Residents Association	Mrs G. Harper-Adamson
16.	Residents Associations	R. Harper
17.	Residents Association	M. Selby
18.	Liberal Democrat	S.A. Kulka
19.	Green	Ms S. Finch

Substitutes:

Conservative	V.W. Broad, J. Durrant, S.N. Farrer, Dr. L. Hack, E.
	Humphreys, A.J. Kay, A. Lynch, R. Mantle, Mrs R. Mill, Mrs C.
	Poulter, Mrs R. Renton, Mrs D. Ross-Tomlin, P. Shillinglaw
	and M. Vivona
Residents Associations	Mrs J. Bray, N. Harris, N.D. Harrison and B.A. Stead
Liberal Democrat	G.L. Norman
Green	J.C.S. Essex and B. Truscott

Regulatory Committee (Politically Balanced) 10 Members

Poli	tical Group	
1.	Conservative	Mrs L.J. Brunt
2.	Conservative	G. Crome
3.	Conservative	A. Horwood
4.	Conservative	F. Kelly
5.	Conservative	A. Lynch
6.	Conservative	R. Newstead
7.	Conservative	P. Shillinglaw
8.	Residents Associations	R. Harper
9.	Green	B. Truscott
10.	UKIP	C. Stevens

Substitutes:

Conservative Residents Associations Green S.N. Farrer, S. Rickman, J. Stephenson and Ms B. Thomson N.D. Harrison, M. Selby and B.A. Stead J.C.S. Essex and Ms S. Finch

Standards Committee (5 Members – Politically balanced, together with 3 non-voting coopted Members).

Poli	tical Group	
1.	Conservative	R. Newstead
2.	Conservative	Mrs R. Renton
3.	Conservative	S. Rickman
4.	Conservative	Mrs D.R. Ross-Tomlin
5.	Residents Associations	Mrs. J. Bray
6.	Salfords and Sidlow Parish Council	Mr S. Norton
7.	Horley Town Council	Cllr Richard Bethell
8.	Independent Person	Mr R. Pett

Substitutes:

Conservative Residents Associations G. Crome, J. Stephenson and M. Vivona B.A. Stead

Licensing Committee 15 Members

Poli	tical Group	
1.	Conservative	Mrs N.J. Bramhall
2.	Conservative	S.T. Bramhall
3.	Conservative	S.N. Farrer
4.	Conservative	K. Foreman
5.	Conservative	F. Kelly
6.	Conservative	A. Lynch
7.	Conservative	R.S. Mantle
8.	Conservative	M. Miller
9.	Conservative	Mrs C. Poulter
10.	Conservative	S. Rickman
11.	Conservative	Mrs R.S. Turner
12.	Residents Associations	Mrs J.S. Bray
13.	Residents Associations	N.D. Harrison
14.	Green	B. Truscott
15.	Liberal Democrat	G.L. Norman

RECOMMENDED that the Constitution and Membership of the Committees (including substitutes as provided by the Constitution) for the Municipal Year 2014/15 be in accordance with the nominations of the various Groups as set out above.

Section 3 (Agenda Item 10)

Surrey County Council Local Committee (Politically Balanced but NOT part of the political balance calculations for Reigate and Banstead Borough Council. Nominees should not also be County Councillors).

RECOMMENDED that the following appointments be made in respect of the Surrey County Council Local Committee for the Municipal Year 2014/15.

Poli	tical Group	
1.	Conservative	M. Blacker
2.	Conservative	J. Ellacott
3.	Conservative	R.S. Mantle
4.	Conservative	R. Newstead
5.	Conservative	T. Schofield
6.	Conservative	Mrs J.M.A. Spiers
7.	Conservative	Mrs R.S. Turner
8.	Residents Associations	N. Harris
9.	Green	Ms S. Finch
10.	Liberal Democrat	G.L. Norman

Section 4 (Agenda Item 11)

Police and Crime Panel: Joint Committee

Nomination received V.W. Broad

RECOMMENDED that Councillor V.W. Broad be elected as the Council's representative on the Police and Crime Panel: Joint Committee for the Municipal Year 2014/15.

Section 5 (Agenda Item 12)

Independent Remuneration Panel (IRP)

RECOMMENDED that the following appointments be made in respect of the Independent Remuneration Panel for the Municipal Year 2014/15:

1.	Mr William Young until 2017
2.	Mr Paul Sherar until 2015
3.	Mrs Tracey Jessup until 2016

Allocation of seats on Committees for the Municipal Year 2014/15

Committees (No. of Seats available)	Conservative	Residents' Associations	Green	Liberal Democrat	UKIP	Independent	Allocated Total
Overview and Scrutiny (15)	11	2	1	1	0	0	15
Employment (5)	3	1	0	0	0	1	5
Planning (19)	14	3	1	1	0	0	19
Regulatory (10)	7	1	1	0	1	0	10
Standards (5)	4	1	0	0	0	0	5
No. of Seats on Committees	39	8	3	2	1	1	54
Surrey County Council Local Committee (10)	7	1	1	1	0	0	10