BOROUGH OF REIGATE AND BANSTEAD

COUNCIL MEETING 28th MAY 2015

ADDENDUM TO AGENDA

Agenda Items 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11

APPOINTMENTS AND CONSTITUTION OF COMMITTEES

The report on the Allocation of Seats on Committees; Membership of Committees for the Municipal Year 2015/16 and other appointments is attached.

REIGATE AND BANSTEAD BOROUGH COUNCIL ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

28th MAY, 2015

To report on the Allocation of Seats on Committees; Membership of Committees for the Municipal Year 2015/16 and other miscellaneous appointments.

Section 1 (Agenda Items 7 and 8)

(Notes:

- (i) the Council is required to make appointments to Committees in accordance with statutory political balance requirements and to give effect to the wishes of political groups;
- (ii) the political balance requirements do not apply to the Licensing Committee and Licensing Sub-Committees as these are not "ordinary" Committees under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989; however the Council has previously accepted that the spirit of political balance should apply;
- (iii) substitute Members can be appointed to the Overview and Scrutiny, Employment, Planning, Regulatory and Standards Committees. The Council's Constitution provides for no limitation on the number of substitutes but Executive Members cannot be appointed in respect of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee. The Constitution also indicates that Group Leaders will be expected to ensure that nominated substitutes have received appropriate training on the role and functions of the relevant Committee.)
- (iv) the Borough Council representatives are to be appointed onto the Local Committee but no substitute members.

(a) Allocation of Seats – 2015/16

RECOMMENDED that the allocation of seats on Committees for the Municipal Year 2015/16 as set out in Annex 1 to this report be approved.

(b) Constitution and Membership of Committees – 2015/16

Overview and Scrutiny Committee (Politically balanced) 15 Members

Poli	tical Group	
1.	Conservative	D. Allcard
2.	Conservative	M. Blacker
3.	Conservative	J. Clarke
4.	Conservative	R. Coad
5.	Conservative	K. Foreman
6.	Conservative	Dr Z.N. Grant-Duff
7.	Conservative	R.S. Mantle
8.	Conservative	S. Parnall
9.	Conservative	D.T. Powell
10.	Conservative	Mrs D.A. Ross-Tomlin
11.	Conservative	J.M. Stephenson
12.	Residents' Association	B.A. Stead
13.	Residents' Association	N.D. Harrison
14.	Green	J.C.S. Essex
15.	Liberal Democrat	S.A. Kulka

Substitutes:

Conservative Mrs R. Absalom, M.A. Brunt, J.M. Ellacott, A.C.J. Horwood, D.

Jackson, J. Paul, Ms B Thomson, Mrs R. Turner and S. Walsh.

Residents' Association

Green

 $\label{eq:mrs_J.S.} \text{Bray}, \, \text{R. Harper}, \, \text{N. Harris}, \, \text{M.J. Selby and C.T.H. Whinney}.$

B. Truscott

Employment Committee (Politically balanced – must include at least one Executive Member). 5 Members

Pol	itical Group	
1.	Conservative	Mrs R. Renton
2.	Conservative	K. Foreman
3.	Conservative	Mrs R. Mill
4.	Conservative	Mrs R.S. Turner
5.	Residents' Association	Mrs J.S. Bray

Substitutes:

Conservative V.W. Broad and J.M. Ellacott. Residents' Association R. Harper and M.J. Selby.

Planning Committee (Politically balanced) 19 Members

Political Group		
1.	Conservative	Mrs R.H. Absalom
2.	Conservative	D. Allcard
3.	Conservative	M. Blacker
4.	Conservative	S.T. Bramhall
5.	Conservative	M.A. Brunt
6.	Conservative	G. Crome
7.	Conservative	K. Foreman
8.	Conservative	A.C.J. Horwood
9.	Conservative	D.G. Jackson
10.	Conservative	S. Parnall
11.	Conservative	D.J. Pay
12.	Conservative	D. Powell
13.	Conservative	Ms B. Thomson
14.	Conservative	Mrs R. Turner
15.	Conservative	S. Walsh
16.	Residents' Association	M.J. Selby
17.	Residents' Association	Mrs J.S. Bray
18.	Residents' Association	C.T.H. Whinney
19.	Green	J.C.S. Essex

Substitutes:

Conservative Mrs N.J. Bramhall, V.W. Broad, J. Clarke, R.W. Coad, J. Durrant, J.M.

Ellacott, J. Godden, Dr Z. Grant-Duff, Dr L.R. Hack, E. Humphreys, A.J. Kay, G.J. Knight, A.M. Lynch, Mrs R. Mill, J. Paul, Mrs R. Renton, Mrs

D.A. Ross-Tomlin and T. Schofield.

Residents' Association B.A. Stead, R. Harper, N. Harris and N.D. Harrison.

Green B. Truscott

Regulatory Committee (Politically balanced) 10 Members

Poli	tical Group	
1.	Conservative	S.T. Bramhall
2.	Conservative	G. Crome
3.	Conservative	A.C.J. Horwood
4.	Conservative	D. Jackson
5.	Conservative	F. Kelly
6.	Conservative	A. Lynch
7.	Conservative	R.S. Mantle
8.	Conservative	Ms B. Thomson
9.	Residents' Association	R. Harper
10.	UKIP	C. Stevens

Substitutes:

Conservative D. Allcard, J. Clarke, Dr Z.N. Grant-Duff, S. Rickman and

J.M. Stephenson.

Residents' Association N.D. Harrison, M. J. Selby and B.A. Stead.

Standards Committee (5 Members – Politically balanced, together with 3 non-voting co-opted Members).

Poli	tical Group		
1.	Conservative	J.M. Stephenson	
2. Conservative		Mrs R. Renton	
3. Conservative		S. Rickman	
4.	Conservative	Mrs D.A. Ross-Tomlin	
5.	Residents' Association	Mrs J.S. Bray	
6.	Salfords and Sidlow Parish Council	Cllr S. Norton	
7.	Horley Town Council	Cllr J. Baird	

Substitutes:

Conservative M.A. Brunt and Mrs R. Mill

Residents' Association B.A. Stead

Salfords and Sidlow Parish Council Cllr C. Clarke

Licensing Committee 15 Members (Not part of the political balance requirements, but follows the same principle)

Poli	tical Group	
1.	Conservative	Mrs R. Absalom
2.	Conservative	Mrs N.J. Bramhall
3.	Conservative	S.T. Bramhall
4.	Conservative	R. Coad
5.	Conservative	K. Foreman
6.	Conservative	J. Godden
7.	Conservative	F. Kelly
8.	Conservative	A. Lynch
9.	Conservative	J. Paul
10.	Conservative	S. Rickman
11.	Conservative	Ms P. Shillinglaw
12.	Conservative	Mrs R.S. Turner
13.	Residents' Association	N.D. Harrison
14.	Residents' Association	R. Harper
15.	Green	B. Truscott

RECOMMENDED that the Constitution and Membership of the Committees (including substitutes as provided by the Constitution) for the Municipal Year 2015/16 be in accordance with the nominations of the various Groups as set out above.

Section 2 (Agenda Item 9)

Surrey County Council Local Committee (Politically balanced but NOT part of the political balance calculations for Reigate and Banstead Borough Council. Nominees should not also be County Councillors).

RECOMMENDED that the following appointments be made in respect of the Surrey County Council Local Committee for the Municipal Year 2015/16.

Poli	tical Group	
1.	Conservative	M. Blacker
2.	Conservative	R. Coad
3.	Conservative	Dr L.R. Hack
4.	Conservative	D. Jackson
5.	Conservative	R.C. Newstead
6.	Conservative	J. Paul
7.	Conservative	T. Schofield
8.	Conservative	Mrs R.S. Turner
9.	Residents' Association	N. Harris
10.	Green	B. Truscott

Section 3 (Agenda Item 10)

Police and Crime Panel: Joint Committee

Nomination received	V.W. Broad

RECOMMENDED that Councillor V.W. Broad be elected as the Council's representative on the Police and Crime Panel: Joint Committee for the Municipal Year 2015/16.

Section 4 (Agenda Item 11)

Independent Remuneration Panel (IRP)

RECOMMENDED that the following appointments be made in respect of the Independent Remuneration Panel for the Municipal Year 2015/16:

1.	Mr Paul Whitehouse until 2018
2.	Mr William Young until 2017
3.	Mrs Tracey Jessup until 2016

Annex 1

Allocation of seats on Committees for the Municipal Year 2015/16

Committees (No. of Seats available)	Conservative	Residents' Associations	Green	Liberal Democrat	UKIP	Allocated Total
Overview and Scrutiny (15)	11	2	1	1	0	15
Employment (5)	4	1	0	0	0	5
Planning (19)	15	3	1	0	0	19
Regulatory (10)	8	1	0	0	1	10
Standards (5)	4	1	0	0	0	5
No. of Seats on Committees	42	8	2	1	1	54
Surrey County Council Local Committee (10)	8	1	1	0	0	10