REIGATE AND BANSTEAD BOROUGH COUNCIL

ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

26th MAY, 2016

To report on the Election of Leader; Allocation of Seats on Committees; Membership of Committees for the Municipal Year 2016/17 and other miscellaneous appointments.

Section 1 (Agenda Item 7)

(Note: Under the Local Government Act 2000 as amended the Leader is appointed for four years or until his/her term of office as a Councillor comes to an end)

Leader of the Council

Nomination received	Councillor V.W. Broad
---------------------	-----------------------

RECOMMENDED that Councillor V.W. Broad be elected as Leader of the Council up to and including the Municipal Year 2019/20.

Section 2 (Agenda Items 8 and 9)

(Notes:

- (i) the Council is required to make appointments to Committees in accordance with statutory political balance requirements and to give effect to the wishes of political groups;
- (ii) the political balance requirements now apply to the Licensing and Regulatory Committee following their amalgamation at the April 2016 meeting of Council;
- (iii) substitute Members can be appointed to the Overview and Scrutiny, Employment, Licensing and Regulatory, Planning, and Standards Committees. The Council's Constitution provides for no limitation on the number of substitutes but Executive Members cannot be appointed in respect of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee. The Constitution also indicates that Group Leaders will be expected to ensure that nominated substitutes have received appropriate training on the role and functions of the relevant Committee.)
- (iv) the Borough Council representatives are to be appointed onto the Local Committee but no substitute members (this was removed by Surrey County Council in 2013).

(a) Allocation of Seats – 2016/17

RECOMMENDED that the allocation of seats on Committees for the Municipal Year 2016/17 as set out in Annex 1 to this report be approved.

(b) Constitution and Membership of Committees - 2016/17

Overview and Scrutiny Committee (Politically Balanced) 15 Members

Poli	Political Group		
1.	Conservative	Mrs R.H. Absalom	
2.	Conservative	M. Blacker	
3.	Conservative	J. Clarke	
4.	Conservative	R.W. Coad	
5.	Conservative	J.S.Godden	
6.	Conservative	Dr Z. Grant-Duff	
7.	Conservative	R.S. Mantle	
8.	Conservative	S. Parnall	
9.	Conservative	Mrs D.A. Ross-Tomlin	
10.	Conservative	Mrs J.M.A. Spiers	
11.	Conservative	J.M. Stephenson	
12.	Residents Group	B.A. Stead	
13.	Residents Group	N.D. Harrison	
14.	Green	J.C.S. Essex	
15.	UKIP	C. Stevens	

Substitutes:

Conservative D. Allcard, L. Ascough, M.A. Brunt, J.M. Ellacott, K. Foreman,

A.C.J. Horwood, J. King and D. Jackson

Residents Group Mrs J.S. Bray, R. Harper, M.J. Selby, C.T.H. Whinney and J.

White.

Green S. McKenna

Employment Committee (Politically Balanced – must include at least one Executive

Member). 5 Members

Poli	Political Group	
1.	Conservative	M.A. Brunt
2.	Conservative	J.M. Ellacott
3.	Conservative	Mrs R. Mill
4.	Conservative	Mrs R. Renton
5.	Residents Group	Mrs J. Bray

Substitutes:

Conservative V.W. Broad and Dr. L.R. Hack Residents Group R. Harper and M.J. Selby

Planning Committee (Politically Balanced) 19 Members

Poli	Political Group		
1.	Conservative	Mrs R.H. Absalom	
2.	Conservative	D. Allcard	
3.	Conservative	L. Ascough	
4.	Conservative	M. Blacker	
5.	Conservative	M.A. Brunt	
6.	Conservative	J. Clarke	
7.	Conservative	G. Crome	
8.	Conservative	K. Foreman	
9.	Conservative	A.C.J. Horwood	
10.	Conservative	D. Jackson	
11.	Conservative	J. King	
12.	Conservative	S. Parnall	
13.	Conservative	J. Paul	
14.	Conservative	D. Pay	
15.	Conservative	Ms B.J. Thomson	
16.	Residents Group	M.J. Selby	
17.	Residents Group	R. Harper	
18.	Lib Dem	S. Kulka	
19.	Green	S. McKenna	

Substitutes:

Conservative Mrs N.J. Bramhall, V.W. Broad, R. Coad, J. Durrant, J.M. Ellacott,

J.S. Godden, Dr. Z. Grant-Duff, Dr. L.R. Hack, E. Humphreys, G.J. Knight, A.M. Lynch, Mrs R. Mill, Mrs R. Renton, Mrs D.A. Ross-Tomlin, T. Schofield, Mrs J.M.A. Spiers, J.M. Stephenson and Mrs

R.S. Turner

Residents Group Mrs J.S. Bray, N.D. Harrison, B.A. Stead, C.T.H. Whinney and J.

White.

Lib Dem Mrs A. Tarrant Green J.C.S. Essex

Licensing and Regulatory Committee (Politically Balanced) 15 Members

Poli	Political Group	
1.	Conservative	Mrs R.H. Absalom
2.	Conservative	L. Ascough
3.	Conservative	Mrs N.J. Bramhall
4.	Conservative	K. Foreman
5.	Conservative	D. Jackson
6.	Conservative	F. Kelly
7.	Conservative	A.M. Lynch
8.	Conservative	J. Paul
9.	Conservative	D. Pay
10.	Conservative	S. Rickman
11.	Conservative	Ms B.J. Thomson
12.	Residents Group	R. Harper
13.	Residents Group	C.T.H. Whinney
14.	Liberal Democrat	Mrs A. Tarrant
15.	Green	J.C.S. Essex

Substitutes:

Conservative J. Clarke, Dr. Z. Grant-Duff, J.M. Ellacott, A.C.J. Horwood and

J.M. Stephenson

Residents Group N.D. Harrison, M.J. Selby and B.A. Stead

Liberal Democrat S. Kulka Green S. McKenna

Standards Committee (5 Members – Politically balanced, together with 3 non-voting coopted Members).

Poli	Political Group	
1.	Conservative	J.M. Ellacott
2.	Conservative	Mrs R. Renton
3.	Conservative	Mrs D.A. Ross-Tomlin
4.	Conservative	J.M. Stephenson
5.	Residents Group	Mrs J. Bray
6.	Salfords and Sidlow Parish Council	S. Norton
7.	Horley Town Council	Nomination to be advised

Substitutes:

Conservative M.A. Brunt, Dr. L.R. Hack and Mrs R. Mill

Residents Group B.A. Stead

RECOMMENDED that the Constitution and Membership of the Committees (including substitutes as provided by the Constitution) for the Municipal Year 2016/17 be in accordance with the nominations of the various Groups as set out above.

Section 3 (Agenda Item 10)

Surrey County Council Local Committee (Politically Balanced but NOT part of the political balance calculations for Reigate and Banstead Borough Council. Nominees should not also be County Councillors).

RECOMMENDED that the following appointments be made in respect of the Surrey County Council Local Committee for the Municipal Year 2016/17.

Poli	Political Group	
1.	Conservative	D. Allcard
2.	Conservative	M. Blacker
3.	Conservative	Dr. L.R. Hack
4.	Conservative	D. Jackson
5.	Conservative	F. Kelly
6.	Conservative	R.C. Newstead
7.	Conservative	T. Schofield
8.	Conservative	Mrs R.S. Turner
9.	Residents Group	J. White
10.	Liberal Democrat	Mrs. A. Tarrant

Section 4 (Agenda Item 11)

Police and Crime Panel: Joint Committee

Nomination received	R.C. Newstead
---------------------	---------------

RECOMMENDED that Councillor R.C. Newstead be elected as the Council's representative on the Police and Crime Panel: Joint Committee for the Municipal Year 2016/17.

Section 5 (Agenda Item 12)

Independent Remuneration Panel (IRP)

RECOMMENDED that the following appointments be made in respect of the Independent Remuneration Panel for the Municipal Year 2016/17:

1.	Mr Paul Whitehouse until 2018
2.	Mr William Young until 2017
3.	Mrs Tracey Jessup until 2018