Agenda and minutes

Licensing and Regulatory Committee - Thursday, 6th June, 2019 6.30 pm

Venue: Back Committee Room - Town Hall, Reigate. View directions

Contact: Democratic Services (01737 276182)  Email:

No. Item


Election of Chairman

To elect a Chairman for the Municipal Year 2019-20.


RESOLVED that Councillor A. M. Lynch be appointed as Chairman for the municipal year 2019-20.


Election of Vice-Chairman

To elect a Vice-Chairman for the Municipal Year 2019-20.


RESOLVED that Councillor F. Kelly be appointed as Vice-Chairman for the municipal year 2019-20.


Minutes pdf icon PDF 48 KB

To confirm as a correct record the minutes of the following meetings:

a)    Licensing & Regulatory Committee on 30 May 2018; and

b)    Licensing & Regulatory Sub Committee meetings held on 30 November 2018 and 22 March 2019.

Additional documents:


RESOLVED that the minutes of the previous meeting of the Committee held on 30 May 2018 and the minutes of the meetings of the Licensing and Regulatory Sub Committee held on 30th November 2018 and 22nd March 2019 be confirmed and signed.


Apologies for absence

To note any apologies.


Apologies for absence were received from Councillors R. J. Feeney, A. M. Lynch, R. Michalowski, C. M. Neame and S. G. J. Rickman (substituted by Councillor C. Stevens).


Declarations of interest

To note any declarations of interest.


There were no declarations of interest.


Licensing and Regulatory Sub-Committee Chairmen

The Independent Remuneration Panel (in undertaking its review of Members Allowances in 2018) asked that the Licensing and Regulatory Committee give consideration to the number of Chairs it appoints to its Sub Committees.

Subsequently the Leader established a Governance Task Group with the purpose of reviewing Constitutional matters and one of the tasks it undertook was to review the Membership size of the Committee in preparation for the 2019/20 Municipal Year (following the implementation of the Boundary Review recommendations).

One of the outcomes of the Task Group’s work was to put forward a recommendation that the size of the Committee reduce to 12 but that the number of Sub Committee Chairs be retained at 5 to allow for full operational flexibility.

As a result the Committee is requested to appoint 5 Members to the position of Chair for the Sub Committee for the 2019/20 Municipal Year.



a)    Councillors A. M. Lynch, F. Kelly and R. Absalom be appointed to act as sub-committee Chairs; and

b)    To delegate authority to the Head of Legal and Governance to appoint the remaining 2 sub-committee Chairs in consultation with the Chairman of the Licensing and Regulatory Committee and the Group Leaders.