Committee details


Purpose of committee

The Council comprises 45 councillors. One-third are elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to the residents of their ward. The overriding duty of councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

All Councillors meet together at a meeting known as Council. Council meetings are normally open to the public and at these meetings Councillors appoint the Leader, determine the policy framework, decide the Council’s overall policies and set the budget each year, in addition to decisions relating to other important Council business. The annual meeting held in May is mainly a ceremonial meeting to elect the Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

Members of the public are permitted to ask a question at these meetings,  further information on how to do this can be found here.



Contact information

Support officer: Democratic Services (01737 276182). Email:

Postal address:
Town Hall
Castlefield Road

Phone: 01737 276182